Airborne Speedway PR - ROC coming to Airborne

Race of Champions Modified Tour coming to Airborne

For immediate release                                                  AS-011211-1

South Plattsburgh, NY – The DART Race of Champions Modified Tour will make its first appearance at Airborne Speedway Saturday, June 4, 2011 track promoter Mike Perrotte has announced.

“This is the premier asphalt series for NASCAR-type Modified series in New York,” Perrotte said. “They race at many asphalt tracks throughout the state, including the Race of Champions 200 at Oswego Speedway.”



Matt Hirschman, 28, of Northampton, PA, will lead the Race of Champions contingent into Plattsburgh. Hirschman is the four-time and defending RoC champion. His father, Tony Hirschman, is a five-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion and the winner of the 2010 RoC 200 at Oswego.

Other top competitors on the Race of Champions circuit include 2010 runner-up Deren Scherer of Binghamton, NY, Erick Rudolph and Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, NY and Jan and Mike Leaty, a father and son combination from Williamson, NY.

“I’m always interested in racing at a new track,” Matt Hirschman said. “But I’m really excited to be going to Airborne. I’ve heard a lot of good things about the track and the way it’s run.”

Hirschman also plans to compete as a regular on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour as do several of the Race of Champions Tour drivers. “I’ll be racing with my own equipment to defend the RoC title and drive the Boehler Racing Enterprises No. 3 on the Whelen Tour,” he said.

The 2011 Airborne Speedway schedule is nearing completion. Season passes for grandstand seating and full-season pit passes are now available. For further information, call 518-561-3208 or airborneparkspeedway.com.


Contact: Tom Herzig


Pour lire le reste /

ACT CASTROL EDGE - Champion Karl Allard Honored at 2010 Série ACT Castrol Edge Banquet of Champions

Champion Karl Allard Honored at
2010 Série ACT Castrol Edge Banquet of Champions

Donald Theetge Presented with MacTavish Award

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                             ACT-011511-05

Quebec, QC – 2010 Série ACT Castrol Edge Champion Karl Allard of St-Félicien, QC celebrated his championship at the 2010 Série ACT Castrol Edge Banquet of Champions on Saturday, January 15 at the Hotel Quebec Inn in Quebec City, Quebec. It is Allard’s first career Série ACT Castrol Edge Championship although he has finished inside the top five in the year end standings for each of the series four seasons since its creation in 2007. During the 2010 season Allard and his Denis Larue owned team put together the most dominant late model touring season since the inception of the ACT Late Model in 1992. With his record six wins, Allard claimed the top honors over runner-up and 2008 Série ACT Castrol Edge Champion Patrick Laperle of St-Denis, Quebec. Allard took home a year end point fund check of $10,000 to bring his season total to $33,810 in the 11 event season.


2009 Série ACT Castrol Edge Champion Donald Theetge of Quebec City, Quebec, became the 42nd recipient of the prestigious MacTavish Award. The award is named after legendary New England racer Don MacTavish who was killed in 1969 while racing at Daytona International Speedway. Theetge received the award, which is one of the top honors presented by ACT, for his support of American Canadian Tour racing for over two decades. Theetge began competing with ACT in 1988, back when the tour ran Pro Stock type cars. He has been competing with ACT off and on ever since and is considered one of the most talented and respectful drivers in the Northeast and Eastern Canada.

The 2010 Série ACT Castrol Edge Rookie of the Year Award went to 17 year old Alex Labbé of St-Albert, Quebec. Labbé also earned fifth in the overall standings on his way to the rookie title. In his eleven starts, Labbé earned five top tens, including a career high fourth place finish on two different occasions.

Drivers in attendance from the top 15 in the 2010 Série ACT Castrol Edge Championship Point Standings received trophies as well as over $36,000 in point fund money. Product certificates from Bassett Racing Wheels and Five Star Racecar Bodies were also awarded.

The 2011 Série ACT Castrol Edge schedule has been announced with a total of 12 events across Quebec and includes two events with its sister series the ACT Late Model Tour at Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh, New York and New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, New Hampshire. Many of the Quebec drivers will cure their winter racing crave with a trip to New Smyrna Speedway in New Smyrna, Florida for the ACT Goodyear Speedweeks on Sunday, February 13 and Monday, February 14.





Pour lire le reste /