Proctor Scores Again in Carrara Race at Devil's Bowl Speedway



CarraraLateModelCrash060112.jpg: J&S Steel Late Model drivers scatter as Chris Wilk (#15), Norm Andrews (#2) and Dave Wilcox (#61) spin during qualifying for Friday's Carrara Masonry & Concrete Night presented by Mobil 1 event at Devil's Bowl Speedway.  (MemorEvents photo)


RonProctor060112.jpg: Ron Proctor celebrates his victory in the 35-lap Bond Auto Parts Modified feature at Carrara Masonry & Concrete Night presented by Mobil 1 at Devil's Bowl Speedway.  (MemorEvents photo)


Hoar beats 24-car Late Model field; Keith and Germain take wins


For Immediate Release                                                                     DBS-060112-1


WEST HAVEN, VT – Ron Proctor and Brian Hoar each made a big statement on Carrara Masonry & Concrete Night presented by Mobil 1 at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Friday night.  Proctor came from 11th starting position to grab the Bond Auto Parts Modified victory for the second week in a row, while Hoar beat the largest weekly field of J&S Steel Late Models in the track’s history.


Proctor, of Charlton, NY, scored a dominant win in the 35-lap Modified feature.  The defending track champion took the lead at lap 20 and cruised out front to the win.  The race ended in bizarre fashion, as Proctor had taken the white flag on the final lap just before a crash involving Paul Braymer drew the yellow flag.  Because Proctor had taken the while flag as the leader under race conditions, the race was deemed official.  Hunter Bates of Middlebury, VT held off a hard-charging Vince Quenneville, Jr., of Brandon, VT for the runner-up position.  Jessey Mueller of Olmstedville, NY recovered from a mid-race spin to finish fourth, and Leon Gonyo of Chazy, NY was fifth.

Williston, VT driver Hoar, an eight-time American-Canadian Tour champion, posted the first NASCAR Whelen All-American Series win of his long career against a star-studded field of 24 Late Models, several of which were making a final tune-up for next week’s Vermont State Late Model Championship Series “I Am Vermont Strong 100” event.  Hoar, who recently ran the Vermont City Marathon, persevered over a caution-riddled 30-lap race to outduel Devil’s Bowl point leader Craig Bushey of Fairfax, VT and Nick Sweet of Barre, VT in an exciting finish.  Sweet’s teammate, Eric Chase, finished fourth with Matt White fifth, unofficially.

Ryan Keith of Pittsford, VT posted his second-straight Renegade win in a 20-lap battle with former champion Bill Duprey of Hydeville, VT.  Duprey dogged Keith the entire distance and made an inside-lane bid on the final lap, but Keith held on for the win.  Jeremy Jones of Leicester, VT was third for the fourth consecutive week, followed by Frank Monroe and Robert Gordon.

Ray Germain, Jr., of Bristol, VT posted his first win of the season in the 20-lap Bomber feature.  Point leader Josh Masterson, also of Bristol, VT, was second.  Colchester, VT’s Matt Monaghan overcame mechanical troubles in qualifying to finish third, with Bobby LaVair and John McCarron completing the unofficial top five.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is back in action on Friday, June 8 at 7:30pm with the I Am Vermont Strong 100 for the Vermont State Late Model Championship Series, plus a full card for Bond Auto Parts Modifieds, Renegades, and Bombers.  General admission is $15 for adults, $13 for seniors (62+), and free for children 12 and under.  Gates open at 6:00pm.

Devil’s Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, VT, six miles north of Exit 2 on US Route 4.  For more information, call (802) 265-3112 or click www.devilsbowlspeedwayvt.com.


UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – Carrara Masonry & Concrete Night presented by Mobil 1

Devil’s Bowl Speedway, West Haven, VT

Friday, June 1, 2012



(# - denotes rookie)


Bond Auto Parts Modified Feature (35 laps)

1.    Ron Proctor, Charlton, NY

2.    Hunter Bates, Middlebury, VT

3.    Vince Quenneville, Jr., Brandon, VT

4.    Jessey Mueller, Olmstedville, NY

5.    Leon Gonyo, Chazy, NY

6.    Jamie Proctor, Schuylerville, NY

7.    Cody Sargen, Greenfield Center, NY

8.    Jason Bruno, Plattsburgh, NY

9.    # Joey Roberts, Georgia, VT

10.  # Jeff Haskins, Wells, VT

11.  Chris Ross, Malta, NY

12.  Alex Bell, Cambridge, NY

13.  # Andy Smith, South Glens Falls, NY

14.  Mike Bush, Hudson Falls, NY

15.  Matt Atwood, Whitehall, NY

16.  Dave Snow, Brandon, VT

17.  Paul Braymer, Granville, NY


Heat Winners: Jamie Proctor, Vince Quenneville, Jr.


J&S Steel Late Models (30 laps)

1.    Brian Hoar, Williston, VT

2.    Craig Bushey, Fairfax, VT

3.    Nick Sweet, Barre, VT

4.    Eric Chase, Milton, VT

5.    Matt White, Northfield, VT

6.    Bryan Town, Charlestown, NH

7.    Boomer Morris, Barre, VT

8.    Aaron Fellows, Croydon, NH

9.    # Emily Packard, East Montpelier, VT

10.  Jamie Aube, North Ferrisburg, VT

11.  Dan Petronis, II, Mechanicville, NY

12.  Scott Carpenter, Waterbury Center, VT

13.  Dave Wilcox, Swanton, VT

14.  Kevin Elliott, Rutland, VT

15.  # Robert Bryant, Jr., Brooklyn, CT

16.  Norm Andrews, Northfield, VT

17.  # Danny Sullivan, Morrisonville, NY

18.  # Johnny Chesnut, Grantham, NH

19.  Doug Hoar, Colchester, VT

20.  Chris Wilk, Mendon, VT

21.  # Jesse Carris, Rutland, VT

22.  Phil Scott, Berlin, VT

23.  Jerry Dawson, Lynnfield, MA

24.  Jean-Paul Cyr, Milton, VT


Heat Winners: Nick Sweet, Chris Wilk, Craig Bushey


Renegade (20 laps)

1.    Ryan Keith, Pittsford, VT

2.    Bill Duprey, Hydeville, VT

3.    Jeremy Jones, Leicester, VT

4.    Frank Monroe, Granville, NY

5.    Robert Gordon, Milton, VT


Heat Winner: Bill Duprey


Bomber (20 laps)

1.    Ray Germain, Jr., Bristol, VT

2.    # Josh Masterson, Bristol, VT

3.    Matt Monaghan, Colchester, VT

4.    Bobby LaVair, Gabriels, NY

5.    John McCarron, Rennselaer, NY

6.    Harold LaVair, Gabriels, NY

7.    # Gerald LaFlam, Hinesburg, VT

8.    Dan Collins, Rennselaer, NY

9.    # Kyle Watrous, Niantic, CT

10.  Jake Noble, Benson, VT

11.  Kodi Sabins, Windsor, VT

12.  Eddie Bruno, Fair Haven, VT

13.  Garrett Given, Cornwall, VT


Heat Winners: Ray Germain, Jr., John McCarron





Pour lire le reste /