Saturday's Banquet to Recognize Champions from Four ARCA Touring Series

For Immediate Release:

Wednesday, December 5, 2012


(TOLEDO, Ohio) - For the first time, the champions of the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series, and ARCA's newest partner, the Midwest Tour, will accept recognition for their 2012 accomplishments at one event.


 Chris Buescher, Johnny VanDoorn, Levi Mansfield, and Jonathan Eilen will all be on hand at Saturday's ARCA Racing Series Championship Awards Banquet at the Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis. Traditionally, the event honors the ARCA Racing Series champion - Buescher - but new relationships with the Super Series and Midwest Tour in the last 18 months have created a unique opportunity to celebrate the best from each of ARCA's divisions.


Buescher, 19 and of Prosper, Texas, won four races and the ARCA Racing Series championship for Roulo Brothers Racing in 2012. The title is the first for both.


VanDoorn, 24 and of Coopersville, Mich., is now a three-time ARCA CRA Super Series champion and won the 2012 title for Kaos Motorsports.


Mansfield, 26 and of Oakwood, Ohio, won his first ARCA Truck Series championship in 2012 while driving for Kirsch Motorsports.


Eilen, 27 and of Hampton, Minn., won the 2012 Midwest Tour championship five years after becoming the series' first race winner. The Midwest Tour connection to ARCA is new this fall, and the 2013 season will be the first in competition for the ARCA Midwest Tour.


25-year-old Dakota Carlson of Cedar Springs, Mich. won the ARCA Gold Cup Series championship, but will not attend the Championship Awards Banquet.


The four honored drivers are joining a long list of other top ARCA competitors and special award winners at Saturday's event. Those individuals, teams, and key ARCA figures will be honored throughout the night in a celebration featuring a look back at ARCA's first 60 years, vibrant video presentations, and speeches from ARCA's 2012 newsmakers.


The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards has crowned 30 ARCA national champions in 60 seasons since 1953, and has toured over 200 race tracks in 26 states since its inception. The series has tested the abilities of drivers and race teams over the most diverse schedule of stock car racing events in the world, visiting tracks ranging from 0.375 mile to 2.66 miles in length, on both paved and dirt surfaces as well as a left- and right-turn road course in its most recent season.


Founded by John and Mildred Marcum in 1953 in Toledo, Ohio, the Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is recognized among the leading sanctioning bodies in the country. Having completed its sixth decade after hundreds of thousands of miles of racing, ARCA administers over 100 race events each season in four professional touring series - the ARCA Racing Series, the ARCA CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series, and new in 2013, the ARCA Midwest Tour - in addition to local weekly events at Ohio's Toledo Speedway and Michigan's Flat Rock Speedway.



Griffin Hickman, ARCA


Don Radebaugh, ARCA


Pour lire le reste /