NASCAR Announces 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Schedule

For Immediate Release



A Return To Rockingham, Two Trips To Iowa Short Track Highlight 18th Season


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 21, 2011) – NASCAR announced today the 2012 schedule for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, highlighted by the sport’s return to historic Rockingham Speedway for the first time since 2004 and a number of familiar venues known for the typically intense battles among the tough trucks.


“The 2012 schedule has a great mix of tracks that will continue to deliver great racing for our fans," said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. "We're excited to bring the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series to the famed Rockingham Speedway, along with the addition of a second date at Iowa Speedway. Looking ahead, interest in the truck series continues to grow in a number of different markets and we’re excited about what the future holds for next season and beyond.”

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will race at Rockingham for the first time in its 17-year history, marking the first time the 1.017-mile track will host a NASCAR national series race since February of 2004.


Next season’s schedule, which features 22 races, opens with the traditional Daytona International Speedway Friday night bout, on Feb. 24. The championship will once again be decided at the season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Nov. 16.


With a nod to the sport’s – and the series’ – roots, the trucks will race on short tracks five times, at three different tracks, next season. Martinsville Speedway hosts the first short-track event, on March 31, with a return engagement on Oct. 27.


Iowa Speedway, the popular 7/8th-mile short track, also hosts two NASCAR Camping World Truck events next season – on July 14 and Sept. 15. Bristol Motor Speedway’s high banks will hold its traditional Wednesday night show, on Aug. 22.


For the third consecutive season, the series will race at the 2.5-mile Pocono Raceway triangle for its fast 50-lapper.



Date                Site                                                     Network

2/24                  Daytona International Speedway            SPEED

3/31                  Martinsville Speedway                           SPEED

4/15                  Rockingham Speedway                         SPEED

4/21                  Kansas Speedway                                 SPEED

5/18                  Charlotte Motor Speedway                     SPEED

6/1                    Dover International Speedway                SPEED

6/8                    Texas Motor Speedway                         SPEED

6/28                  Kentucky Speedway                              SPEED

7/14                  Iowa Speedway                                     SPEED

7/21                  Chicagoland Speedway                         SPEED

8/4                    Pocono Raceway                                  SPEED

8/18                  Michigan International Speedway            SPEED

8/22                  Bristol Motor Speedway                         SPEED

8/31                  Atlanta Motor Speedway                        SPEED

9/15                  Iowa Speedway                                     SPEED

9/21                  Kentucky Speedway                              SPEED

10/6                  Talladega Superspeedway                     SPEED

10/13                Las Vegas Motor Speedway                  SPEED

10/27                Martinsville Speedway                           SPEED

11/2                  Texas Motor Speedway                         SPEED

11/9                  Phoenix International Raceway               SPEED

11/16                Homestead-Miami Speedway                 SPEED



Pour lire le reste /

Tony Stewart Wins 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship

For Immediate Release


Tony Stewart Wins 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship

With “Walk-Off Win,” Stewart Takes Third Title At Homestead


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 20, 2011) – Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Tony Stewart went from all-time great to legend, capturing his third career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship in grand fashion – a number that places him among a short list of historic NASCAR figures.


With a victory in Sunday’s Ford 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Stewart became the seventh champion to win the season finale in his championship season. He out-dueled runner-up Carl Edwards in a finale befitting a championship showdown, tying Edwards in points – but winning the championship on a tiebreaker. Stewart’s five wins bested Edwards’ one, clinching the title for Stewart.


Stewart won his first championship in 2002 and second in 2005. The Indiana native now joins David Pearson, Lee Petty, Darrell Waltrip and Cale Yarborough – all NASCAR Hall of Fame members or inductees – as three-time champions. Nine drivers in NASCAR Sprint Cup history have won three or more championships.


Stewart entered the season-ending race trailing Edwards by three points. It marked the second consecutive season and fourth time since the inception of the position-based points system in 1975 the champion has overcome a points deficit entering the final race.


Stewart, co-owner of Stewart-Haas Racing with Gene Haas, is the first driver-owner to claim the championship since Alan Kulwicki in 1992. The 2011 season is the organization’s third under its current ownership.


Stewart failed to win a race during the 26-race regular season. But he quickly caught fire, winning the first two races of the Chase, at Chicagoland Speedway and New Hampshire Motor Speedway. He ultimately won five times – twice on consecutive weekends – to break the record for most Chase wins in a single season. Stewart has won 11 times in Chase history, second only to Jimmie Johnson’s 20.


Entering Sunday’s season finale, Stewart had led the points just twice in 2011, ironically after Edwards’ only victory in Las Vegas and following the fall race at New Hampshire. He finished the year with 44 career victories, tied for 15th on the all-time wins list.


Those wins wound up trumping Edwards’ consistency during both the regular season and the playoffs. Stewart’s nine top-five and 19 top-10 finishes trailed Edwards, however, the series-high five wins ultimately were the decisive factor in the championship’s outcome.


For more information, contact:

Mike Forde, NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications


Pour lire le reste /