Heywood’s Historic Championship Celebrated at Airborne Speedway Banquet

Heywood's Historic Championship Celebrated at Airborne Speedway Banquet

Title winners crowned for 2015 racing season


For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                                APS-111515-1


ALTONA, NY – More than 350 people celebrated Airborne Park Speedway's 62nd racing season on Saturday, November 14, as the Plattsburgh, NY track officially crowned its champions for 2015. The Rainbow Wedding & Banquet Hall in Altona, NY hosted the year-end fete for stock car drivers from the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series presented by Yandow Sales & Service and John Deere and go-kart racers from the Competition Kart Series.

Nick Heywood of Plattsburgh was met with a raucous standing ovation for his fourth consecutive championship in the NASCAR-sanctioned J&S Steel Modified division. Heywood set a new track record with the unprecedented mark, and will also be recognized at a ceremony at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, NC onDecember 11.

Fairfax, VT native Richie Turner collected the second Key R-D Trailer Sales Renegade title of his career and his first since 2004, while Chris LaVair of Gabriels, NY was crowned for the first time in the Busch Beer Mini-Modified class.

Danny Sullivan of Morrisonville, NY was named the Ernie's Discount Tools Rookie of the Year in the Modifieds, with Michael Wright of Alburgh, VT taking the title in the Renegades and Tanner Crary of Saranac Lake, NY doing the same in the Mini-Modifieds. Lenny's Shoe & Apparel of Plattsburgh named its inaugural "Hottest Shoe" challenge co-champions: Bucko Branham and Jason Durgan (Modified), Turner and Josh Terry (Renegade), and LaVair and Kris Clark (Mini-Modified). Other awards and certificates were also presented on behalf of Five Star Race Car Bodies, Shiley Fabrication, and Bond Auto Parts.

The Competition Kart Series crowned six champions as well. Youngsters Wyatt Dragoon of Plattsburgh and Ryan Bevins of Colchester, VT took titles in the Junior 1 divisions, while Ethan Worley of West Chazy, NY and Tanner Forbes of Jay, NY won their titles in the Junior 2 classes. Championship speeches by Bevins and Forbes were show-stoppers. Tobias Mason of Peru, NY and Pat Patterson of Lake Placid, NY were champions in the two unrestricted Senior divisions.

The winners of several special annual awards were also announced; Sportsmanship Awards went to Speedy Bresette (Modified), Curt "Metal Man" Giventer (Renegade), and Tyler Irwin (Mini-Modified), while Most Improved Driver honors were given to Jamy Begor (Modified), Dylan Rabtoy (Renegade), and "Fast Eddie" Bresette (Mini-Modified).

The inaugural Dedication Award went to popular track photographer Dave Brown for his decades of service to the local racing community, and Airborne Park Speedway staff member Peg Bombard was honored with the annual Award of Excellence for her many positive contributions. Each received a standing ovation as their names were called.

Several tributes were made in honor of late two-time Airborne Park Speedway champion Leon Gonyo, and veteran driver Mike Wells brought the house down when he was presented with the inaugural Leon Gonyo Memorial Award for his spirited participation in the sport.

Longtime track sponsor Ernie Coulombe of Ernie's Discount Tools was named as the winner of the track's highest honor, the Maurice Broderick Award, for his long-standing commitment to the success of Airborne Park Speedway; Coulombe was represented by his son, Joe Coulombe.

Speeches by departing track promoter Mike Bruno and track owner Jamie Atkins closed the evening, as they each recognized staff, officials, sponsors, and racers for their commitment Airborne Park Speedway. The track has been leased to John Walker for 2016.

For more information on Airborne Park Speedway, visit www.airborneparkspeedway.com or call (518) 647-4444. Airborne Park Speedway is on Facebook at Facebook.com/AirborneParkSpeedway and on Twitter at @AirborneSpeed.


Pour lire le reste /