Quenneville, Atkins to be recognized at NASCAR Awards Gala in North Carolina

ATTACHED PHOTOS (credit MemorEvents):
Atkins.jpg - Greg Atkins of Clintonville, N.Y. will be honored as the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Vermont State Rookie of the Year on December 11 in Charlotte, N.C.
Quenneville.jpg - Vince Quenneville Jr. of Brandon, Vt. - joined in victory lane by Lauren Wescoat, NASCAR Senior Manager, Weekly  Racing Operations - will be crowned as the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Vermont State Champion and Devil's Bowl Speedway Track Champion on December 11 in Charlotte, N.C.
Quenneville, Atkins to be recognized at NASCAR Awards Gala in North Carolina

Devil's Bowl drivers to share stage with national stars; ceremony to be streamed live online


For Immediate Release                                                                                                                                                                                 DBS-120415-1


CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Devil's Bowl Speedway stock car drivers Vince Quenneville Jr. and Greg Atkins will be honored in Charlotte, N.C. as NASCAR celebrates the top Whelen All-American Series drivers of 2015.  Two full days of events culminate on Friday, December 11, as the NASCAR Hall of Fame hosts a black tie dinner and awards gala.

The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series (NWAAS), presented locally by Yandow Sales & Service and John Deere, sanctions weekly short track racing at nearly 60 asphalt and dirt tracks throughout the United States and Canada including Devil's Bowl Speedway in West Haven, Vt.  Each track designates its "Division I" class and drivers compete under a common point structure for track, state, provincial, and national championships.

Quenneville, of Brandon, Vt., will be honored in Charlotte as both the Bond Auto Parts Modified asphalt Track Champion at Devil's Bowl Speedway and the NWAAS Division I Vermont State Champion.  Quenneville earned five feature race victories during the season, beating former champion Ron Proctor by 34 points (908-874) for the track title and 53 points (405-352) for the state crown.

Atkins, of Clintonville, N.Y., will be honored as the Vermont State Rookie of the Year presented by Jostens.  The first-time NASCAR Division I license holder beat Jimmy Ryan for the title by an impressive 133 points (333-200).  Atkins also won the New York State Rookie of the Year title and finished third in national rookie standings.

Lee Pulliam will collect his third NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Championship in Charlotte. The Semora, N.C. driverposted 29 wins in 51 starts while competing in Division I asphalt Late Models at six southeastern tracks.  Oklahoma dirt Modified racer Thomas Tillison was the National Rookie of the Year and finished as the runner-up to Pulliam, with Canadian asphalt Late Model driver Taylor Holdaway third.

"I'm extremely excited to get back to Charlotte," Quenneville said.  He was previously recognized as the NWAAS Vermont State Rookie of the Year in 2012.  "NASCAR really makes it a special event and I'll have more of my team members and family with me this time. Being there with drivers from across the country makes you really feel like you've accomplished something important.  We're all looking forward to it for sure."

Free live video coverage of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Awards ceremony will be streamed online atwww.FansChoice.tv on Friday, December 11 beginning at 5:00 p.m.

Devil's Bowl Speedway will honor all of its 2015 champions and top drivers locally on Saturday, January 30 at the Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington in Rutland, Vt.

Devil's Bowl Speedway is located on Route 22A in West Haven, Vt., four miles north of Exit 2 on U.S. Route 4.  For more information, visit www.DevilsBowlSpeedwayVT.com or call (802) 265-3112.  Devil's Bowl Speedway is on Facebook at facebook.com/DevilsBowlSpeedway and on Twitter and Instagram at @DevilsBowlSpeed; follow the action using the #DevilsBowl hashtag.


No comments: