Suárez, Lang, Chevrolet Among Winners at 2016 NASCAR Diversity Awards


Suárez, Lang, Chevrolet Among Winners at 2016 NASCAR Diversity Awards

Ninth-Annual Event Honors Individuals and Organizations that Champion

NASCAR's Year-Round Efforts on Diversity and Inclusion 


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 19, 2016) – Reigning NASCAR XFINITY Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year, Daniel Suárez, will headline a group of eight winners at the ninth annual NASCAR Diversity Awards. The event will take place at 12 p.m. ET today at the Daytona International Speedway in the lead up to the Daytona 500 on Sunday, Feb. 21 (1 p.m. ET on FOX).  


The NASCAR Diversity Awards recognize the people and organizations in motorsports that champion diversity and inclusion in eight categories: Industry Ambassador, Diverse Driver, Ignition Award, Diverse Intern, Institution, Partner, Young Driver, and Pit Crew.


Notable previous NASCAR Diversity Awards winners include: Max Siegel, Darrell Wallace Jr., Phoenix International Raceway, Toyota, Coca-Cola, Sunoco, and the University of Central Florida.


Driven by NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France, the NASCAR Diversity Awards has become the leading means to recognize multicultural accomplishments across the motorsports industry.  


The winners are chosen based on participation or support of NASCAR's year-round diversity and inclusion initiatives including: NASCAR Drive for Diversity, the leading driver and crew member development program in motorsports; the NASCAR Diversity Internship Program, a paid internship program for ethnically-diverse candidates with high academic standing from elite institutions; and the NASCAR Opinion Leader Initiative, which engages multicultural community, civic, and professional organizations. 


"Becoming more diverse and inclusive is a huge priority at NASCAR and we continue to make long-term investments to boost female and minority participation across every level of our sport, on and off the track," said Jim Cassidy, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. "Widening our appeal is critical to our continued expansion and we are proud to honor today's winners, and many others across the industry, for their hard work and support." 


The 2016 NASCAR Diversity Awards Winners:  


Industry Ambassador Award

Winner: Claire B. Lang, NASCAR radio host and current host of "Dialed In" on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio who has actively engaged with NASCAR diversity and inclusion initiatives

Description: Representative who displays an exemplary effort to incorporate multicultural initiatives as part of his/her job.


Diverse Driver Award

Winner: Abraham Calderon, 2014 NASCAR Mexico Series Champion

Description: Minority or female NASCAR developmental driver who exemplifies outstanding performance both on and off the racetrack in encouraging awareness and interaction with NASCAR and motorsports.


Ignition Award

Winner: Daniel Suárez, 2015 NASCAR XFINITY Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year, Joe Gibbs Racing and NASCAR Drive for Diversity alum  

Description: Minority or female NASCAR national series driver who demonstrates leadership both on and off the racetrack while helping to foster the diversity in sport.


Outstanding Intern Award

Winner: Victoria Kim, a Penn State graduate and Pocono Raceway's first NASCAR Diversity Internship Program intern 

Description: Student who exhibits high performance and leadership skills in academics as well as during their NASCAR Diversity Internship Program.


Institution Award

Winner: National Association of Black Journalists, An organization of journalists, students, and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of African-American journalists worldwide

Description: Civic or educational institution that exposes minorities to motorsports and encourages pursuit of opportunities within the motorsports industry.


Partner Award

Winner: Chevrolet, for demonstrating a commitment to NASCAR diversity and inclusion goals through its program support and engagement with NASCAR Multicultural Development

Description: Company that shows commitment to NASCAR diversity and inclusion goals through its program support and engagement with NASCAR.


Young Racer Award

Winner: Macy Causey, 15, youngest participant in the NASCAR Drive for Diversity Combine 

Description: Minority or female between the ages of 8-15 years old who has partaken in some form of competitive racing and has overcome adversity in pursuit of his/her dream of participating in the motorsports industry. 


Crew Member Award

Winners: Rafael Diaz and Mike Russell, both of Roush Fenway Racing and part of the 2015 NASCAR XFINITY Series Championship team

Description: Minority or female crew member who inspires awareness of NASCAR through competitive performance and outreach activities.



The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR) is the sanctioning body for the No. 1 form of motorsports in the United States. NASCAR consists of three national series (the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series™, NASCAR XFINITY Series™, and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series™), four regional series, one local grassroots series and three international series. The International Motor Sports Association™ (IMSA®) governs the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship™, the premier U.S. sports car series. Based in Daytona Beach, Fla., with offices in eight cities across North America, NASCAR sanctions more than 1,200 races in more than 30 U.S. states, Canada, Mexico and Europe. For more information visit http://www.NASCAR.com and http://www.IMSA.com, and follow NASCAR on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and Snapchat ('NASCAR').



Brooke Bunch

NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications

No comments: