Lapcevich to Make History When He Takes Green Flag

NASCAR Pinty's Series News & Notes: Kawartha
Lapcevich to Make History When He Takes Green Flag


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Sept. 13, 2016) – The NASCAR Pinty's Series will concludes its 2016 season with the Kawartha 250 at Kawartha Speedway on Saturday in Fraserville, Ontario.


While this year's driver's battle for the championship isn't as close as the four-, three- and two-point margins between 2013-2015, this year's NPS championship will be no less historic.


Cayden Lapcevich only has to take the green flag to clinch his first championship and in the process break the record as the youngest champion in the history of NASCAR.


The Grimsby, Ontario native will break the record currently held by former Daytona 500 winner and 2016 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup contender Joey Logano.


Logano won the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East championship in 2007 at 17 years, 3 months, 28 days.


Andrew Ranger, who sits in second place in the standings, will try to finish the season on a strong point after mechanical issues in two of the past three races cost him a chance at another title.


While Lapcevich has all but clinched the driver's title, he's also secured the Josten's Rookie of the Year Award and has a chance to have his mom and car owner Sherri Lapcevich to win that title as well.


She holds a 20-point advantage over Alex Tagliani's car owner Colin Livingston (462-442) heading into the season finale.


RACE: Kawartha 250
PLACE: Kawartha Speedway, Fraserville, Ont.
DATE: Saturday, Sept. 17
TIME: 5:30 p.m. ET
TELECAST: TSN, Sun., Oct. 2, 12:30 p.m. / RDS2, Fri., Oct. 21, 9:30 p.m.
TRACK LAYOUT: .375-mile, banked asphalt oval
2015 POLESITTER: Scott Steckly
WINNER: Jason Hathaway
EVENT SCHEDULE: Practice 11:30 a.m. - Noon, Final Practice 12:30 - 1 p.m., Qualifying 3:45 p.m., Driver Autograph Session 4:30 p.m.
TRACK CONTACT: Dave Middleton, 705-939-6316Cell: 705-740-6959dmiddleton@kawarthadowns.com
NASCAR CONTACT: Tim Southers, 386-235-3634tsouthers@nascar.com, Twitter: @TSouth1968


Fast Facts
The Race:
 The Kawartha 250 will be the 12th and final event on the 2016 NASCAR Pinty's Series and the 10th all-time trip to Kawartha Speedway.


The Procedure: The maximum starting field is 26 cars, including provisionals. The first 23 cars will have secured starting positions based on two lap time trials and the remaining three spots will be awarded through the provisional process. The race is scheduled for 250 laps (93.75 miles/150.87 Kilometers)


The Track: Kawartha Speedway is part of the Kawartha Downs and Speedway complex in Fraserville, Ontario, east of Toronto near Peterborough. The .375-mile asphalt oval speedway with progressive banking is surrounded by a harness-racing horse track.


Pole Winners: The nine previous Kawartha races have each produced seven different pole winners as J.R. Fitzpatrick is the only driver with more than one. Scott Steckly set the series' track qualifying record on Sept. 19, 2015 at 17.666 seconds (76.418 mph).


Race Winners: There have been five different winners in the first nine Pinty's Series events at Kawartha, led by D.J. Kennington's three triumphs.


Kawartha 250 Race Notes
Kawartha Closers:
 This year's Kawartha 250 will keep the tradition alive. Each and every season of NASCAR Pinty's Series competition since 2007 has concluded with the season finale at Kawartha Speedway.


Drivers Still Looking for Win: After coming close last week at St. Eustache, D. J. Kennington will try to close out the 2016 season with a win at Kawartha. The 2010 & 2012 NPS champion has won three times at Kawartha and last won a series race at Trois-Rivieres in 2013 – a span of 37 races. Jason Hathaway's second of two wins at Kawartha came in the 2015 season finale. Gary Klutt is the only other active driver who won in 2015 (CTMP-1) that is still looking for a win this season.


Ironmen to Continue Impressive Accomplishment:Both D.J. Kennington and Jason Hathaway have started every race in the history of the NPS which stands at 120 entering this Saturday.


Lacroix, Lapcevich Attempt To Keep Rookie Streak Alive: Since Cayden Lapcevich's win in Saskatoon in July, he and fellow Josten's Rookie of the Year contender Kevin Lacroix have rotated wins in the last five races. They have already set a series record for most consecutive wins by rookie drivers and will try to close out the season with six straight wins.


Tim Southers
NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications

No comments: