Eastern Ontario Legends Series Takes a New Attitude Into 2017

Eastern Ontario Legends Series Takes a New Attitude Into 2017

By Jim Clarke, Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media


The action and excitement of a brand-new race season is about to come to life across the province and the Eastern Ontario Legends Series is ready to make headlines. The name may be different, but there'll be no mistaking the brand of exhilaration that fans can expect with this year's tour – presented by Trailers Plus – rolls to the starting line.


Under the guidance of a new board of directors, a roster of championship calibre competition including Nicholas and Cole Ledson, Matt Haufe, Adam Cuthbertson, Cole McFadden and Dave Riopelle. Veteran campaigners like fan favourite Bill Mason, Jamie MacArthur, Robin Jongen and Terry McClelland, along with newcomers Rob Murray, Joe Sherman, Andrew Massey and Shawn Murray are just some of the names fans can expect to tackle an agenda of 4 different venues during the season and deliver the goods.


Things get rolling Saturday, May 20th, continuing its long-standing relationship at Peterborough Speedway with 7 regular season events during the 50thAnniversary schedule at Canada's Toughest 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval. There has also been a renewed interest from Sunset Speedway, with a handful of shows including a national qualifier Saturday, August 5th. Eastern Ontario Legends Series teams will also be part of a pair of Friday night OSCAAR dates – June 2nd and July 21st – at Kawartha. Grand Bend Speedway has a solo 2017 event on Saturday, September 9th.Andrew McFadden – speaking on behalf of the EOLS Board that also includes Jeff Drimmie, Geordie Ledson and Kevin Foisy – says the tour is looking to make headlines.


"We're aiming to be strong right out of the box," McFadden said. "There's a solid point fund in place and our race purses offer the teams some impressive payout numbers, right across the board. We're looking to take this series to places its never been before and based on the feedback we've had so far, it looks like we're headed in the right direction. Teams are excited to hit the track and can't wait for the first green flag."


McFadden says that having the National Qualifiers on the schedule will give Eastern Ontario Legends Series Racers some extra incentive to put their best effort forward. They'll be looking to earn a preferred starting spot for the finale at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway Bull Ring, October 12th to 15th.


2017 Eastern Ontario Legends Series Schedule


Saturday, May 20th                 Peterborough Speedway

Sunday, May 21st                   Sunset Speedway


Friday, June 2nd                     Kawartha Downs & Speedway

Saturday, June 3rd                 Peterborough Speedway

                                                (Toonie Spectator Grandstand Admission)

Saturday, June 24th               Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, July 8th                             Peterborough Speedway

                                              (Toonie Spectator Grandstand Admission)

(National Qualifier)

Saturday, July 15th                 Peterborough Speedway

Friday, July 21st                      Kawartha Downs & Speedway

Saturday, July 22nd                Sunset Speedway

Saturday, July 29th                 Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, August 5th              Sunset Speedway

                                                (National Qualifier)

Saturday, August 19th            Sunset Speedway

Saturday, August 26th            Peterborough Speedway


Saturday, September 9th       Grand Bend Speedway

Saturday, September 23rd     Sunset Speedway


Friday, October 7th to

Sunday, October 9th               Peterborough Speedway

                                                (Autumn Colours Classic)


Like the Eastern Ontario Legends Series on www.facebook.com and look for the exciting, new web-site www.ontariolegendseries.ca. Clarke Motorsports Communications is proud to represent the Eastern Ontario Legends Series 2017 season.

The Eastern Ontario Legends Series will kick-off its 2017 season Saturday, May 20th at Peterborough Speedway.


Prepared by: Jim Clarke, Clarke Motorsports Communications/First Draft Media


No comments: