Dump Truck Races at Airborne

Dump Truck Races at Airborne


PLATTSBURGH – For the first time in Airborne Park Speedway history, Dump Truck racing will take place this Saturday night. Laware Construction and Huntley Trucking will present the night of racing at 7 p.m.

                In addition to Dump Truck races, the Egglefield Ford 358 Modifieds, Fidelis Care Sportsman, Poirier's True Value Renegades, Busch Beer Mini-Mods and Strictly stocks will all be in action for heats and feature events. Grandstands will open at 5 p.m. for spectators. Prices are set at $12 for adults with kids ages 12 and under free of charge.

                Last week, Chris Raabe collected his fifth 358 Modified feature win at Airborne Park Speedway on Saturday night.

                Steve Bernier took the lead on lap-4 and led until a lap-15 yellow flag for Jake Scarborough's spin in turn one. Bernier would select the outside lane to restart next to Raabe. On the restart Raabe would pull to the lead, only to have Bernier make contact with him in turn two that would send Raabe's No. 01 machine around. Raabe, however was able to keep the car rolling and continued in the seventh position.

                The yellow flag flew again on lap-26 and Raabe had rallied to the second spot, awaiting an opportunity to get back at Bernier. Bernier elected to restart on the inside, but Raabe aced the restart and drove home to the victory.

                Bernier would finish second with Todd Stone coming home third. Greg Atkins and Simon Perrault completed the top five.

                The Sportsman point leader, Connor Cleveland, found victory lane for the second time in 2017. Cleveland drove from position twelve on the starting grid to the top spot.

                Chris Cayea led the opening laps of the race before Cleveland would eventually run him down on lap-10. In his progress to the front, Cleveland made two exceptional moves to put him in position to win. One move was three-wide on the cushion out of turn four and the other was a four-wide move in which he was able to slice through the middle of turn two.

                Moïse Pagé would settle for second with Joey Scarborough finishing third. Nick Heywood rallied from an early spin to finish fourth. Apparent fifth place finished, Adam Gage was disqualified following post-race technical inspection for an ignition infraction. Bucko Branham was placed fifth.

                The Renegade division had a first-time winner, however on track winner Shawn Duquette failed post-race technical inspection for a suspension infraction. Michael Wright will inherit the race win. Mark Caron, Jimmy Bushey and Brent Jarvis complete the top five.

                Kris Clark continued his dominance in the Mini-Mod division by scoring his fifth win of the season. Michael Whalen and Roger LaBounty finished second and third, respectively.

                Shawn Walker found victory lane for the second time in the Strictly Stock division. Nathan Smart and Rolland Guay completed the top 3.

                For more information and schedule questions, visit airborneparkspeedway.com or on Facebook at Airborne Park Speedway. 

No comments: