Teenager Becomes Youngest Race Winner in Pinty’s Series History

A Race to Remember for Lapcevich
Teenager Becomes Youngest Race Winner in Pinty's Series History

SASKATOON, SASK. – Wednesday night at Wyant Group Raceway is one Cayden Lapcevich won't forget about for a long time.


After scoring a pair of runner-up finishes in what he called 'frustrating nights' earlier this season, the 16 year-old Grimsby, Ontario native can finally celebrate.


Lapcevich took the lead in a tight battle with veteran Jason Hathaway midway through the race and held off former NASCAR Pinty's Series champion L.P. Dumoulin after a late caution to score his first series victory in the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 at Wyant Group Raceway.


He scored the win in just his 13th start, to become the youngest winner in the history of the series at 16 years, eight months and 24 days – eclipsing the old record held by J.R. Fitzpatrick of 19 years, one month and 26 days set in 2007.


Lapcevich first took the lead on Lap 135 as he and Hathaway raced side-by-side for eight laps. 


After Hathaway took the lead on Lap 136-137, Lapcevich reclaimed the top spot on Lap 138 and remained out front with leads by as much as six car lengths.


Hathaway and Lapcevich traded the lead two more times before the teenager reclaimed the point on Lap 145 and stayed out front until the eighth and final caution of the race was given to the field on Lap 237.


Dumoulin, who won this race in 2014 for his first oval track win, took the lead after the restart on Lap 246 before Lapcevich made the pass for the lead on Lap 248 and hold on for the victory.


Alex Labbe followed Dumoulin in third to score his best finish since his win at Chaudière in June with Alex Tagliani and Andrew Ranger completing the top five.


D.J. Kennington was sixth followed by Gary Klutt, Kevin Lacroix, Noel Dowler and Mark Dilley to complete the top 10.


Lapcevich pulled to within one point of Ranger in the driver points battle (289-288) with Tagliani's car owner Colin

Livingston holding on to the top spot in the owner's championship standings by seven points over Doug Kennington (296-289).


The Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 will be televised on TSN on Saturday, Aug. 6 at 4:30 p.m. ET and on RDS on Saturday, Sept. 3 at 1:30 p.m. ET


The NASCAR Pinty's series will return to action on Aug. 14 at Circuit de Trois-Rivieres for the Can-Am 50 Tours.


Tim Southers
NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications


NASCAR Pinty's Series-Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 Results


At Wyant Group Raceway

Saskatoon, Sk.

Lap length: 0.333 miles

(Start position in parentheses)

1. (9) Cayden Lapcevich, Grimsby, Ont., Dodge, 250 laps, 51.389 mph.

2. (11) L.P. Dumoulin, Trois-Rivieres, Que., Dodge, 250.

3. (5) Alex Labbe, Victoriaville, Que., Ford, 250.

4. (3) Alex Tagliani, Lachenaie, Que., Chevrolet, 250.

5. (1) Andrew Ranger, Roxton Pond, Que., Dodge, 250.

6. (4) D.J. Kennington, St. Thomas, Ont., Dodge, 250.

7. (10) Gary Klutt, Halton Hills, Ont., Dodge, 250.

8. (12) Kevin Lacroix, Saint-Eustache, Que., Dodge, 250.

9. (14) Noel Dowler, Sherwood Park, Alta., Dodge, 250.

10. (6) Mark Dilley, Barrie, Ont., Ford, 250.

11. (7) Kelly Admiraal, Edmonton, AB, Dodge, 250.

12. (18) Jason Hankewich, Kindersley, Sask., Chevrolet, 249.

13. (15) Jamie Krzysik, Grande Prairie, Alta., Dodge, 248.

14. (16) Kevin Poitras, Newcastle, Ont., Ford, 247.

15. (17) Ian Admiraal, Sherwood Park, Alta., Chevrolet, 235.

16. (19) Shania LaForce, Athabasca, Alta., Chevrolet, 234.

17. (8) Jason Hathaway, St. Thomas, Ont., Chevrolet, 223.

18. (13) Nick Jewell, Fort Frances, Ont, Dodge, 190, rear gear.

19. (2) Joey McColm, Ajax, Ont., Ford, 57, accident.

Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour 37 minutes 12 seconds

Margin of Victory: .736 seconds

Fastest Qualifier: A.Ranger (81.790 mph, 14.657 seconds)

Caution Flags: 8 for 59 laps.

Lead Changes: 8 among 4 drivers.

Lap Leaders: A. Ranger 1-91; J. Hathaway 92-134; C. Lapcevich 135; J. Hathaway 136-137;

C. Lapcevich 138-150; J. Hathaway 151-154; C. Lapcevich 155-245; L. Dumoulin 246-247; C.

Lapcevich 248-250.

Standings: 1. A. Ranger, 289; 2. C. Lapcevich, 288; 3. A. Tagliani, 263; 4. A. Labbe,

253; 5. L. Dumoulin, 253; 6. K. Lacroix, 247; 7. D. Kennington, 245; 8. G. Klutt, 243; 9.

J. Hathaway, 212; 10. L. Jackson, 184.

No comments: